Pumpkin Mini-Muffins with Maple Frosting (gluten free)

A few weeks ago, I jokingly updated my Facebook status stating that I was going to start a food blog. A few friends encouraged me to try guest blogs. Ultimately, I realized that blogging my gluten free trials and errors organized my recipes for me. So, despite my early reticence, I’m giving blogging a try.

It’s fall. That means pumpkin, apples, squash… At this point, I’m likely to leave main dishes to better cooks. I did, however, go crazy for pumpkin recipes.

My first try were these pumpkin bars. Truly, a great jumping off point… Except. There’s always an “except” for me. I don’t like agave. I much prefer maple syrup or honey to sweeten. I also think that recipes with agave tend to be a bit less sweet than my dear husband prefers. I tweaked a little (okay, a lot) and used a muffin tin instead of a baking dish.

Here’s my update:

Pumpkin Mini-Muffin Bars (Paleo, gluten free)

2/3 c pumpkin (yes, from a can. I don’t prep my own pumpkin…)
1/3 c apple sauce (unsweetened)
1/3 c date sugar (you could use coconut sugar)
1/3 c honey (or maple syrup)
2 eggs
1/3 c coconut flour
2 t pumpkin pie spice
A pinch of salt
1/2 t baking soda

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Mix in one dish the pumpkin, honey, eggs, and applesauce. Set it aside.

In another dish, combine the remaining ingredients. I like to sift coconut flour and date sugar to remove clumps.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir until combined.

Scoop about 2T into each space in a mini muffin pan. (My batch made 23.)

Bake for 16-20 minutes.

This is the result:

20130920-150921.jpg

Lovely, moist, delicious little bites of pumpkin-y goodness.

Except. I mentioned there’s always an “except” with me, right?

I thought they needed frosting.

Maple Frosting (vegan)

1 (8 T) stick of vegan earth balance spread
1/4 c coconut oil
1/4 c maple syrup
About 2 cups of powdered sugar (add to texture)

Mix the butter spread, coconut oil and maple syrup until well blended. Stir in powdered sugar until frosting consistency.

Ah! So much better!

20130920-151408.jpg

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Mini-Muffins with Maple Frosting (gluten free)

Leave a comment